Introduction and the need for us to choose our words carefully

by acfriedman

If you find yourself reading this entry then I am sorry to disappoint you. This website will be updated weekly with new posts, but you have stumbled on an unfinished product.

What can you, the reader, expect from my website? Although I am still trying to figure this out myself, it will be sufficient to tell you that I will be highlighting the viewpoints of my millennial brothers and sisters on current events, technology, politics, television, literature and the arts.

I am not a representative to the older generations, but ‘ye olde folks’ can take my words as such. I am also not a connection to American heritage that my generation lacks, but if my age group thinks I bring the authority of age in my words then maybe I will be doing some good.

Let me leave you with something to think about:

What words/phrases/colloquialisms do you find yourself using everyday?

Our vocabulary represents our mindset, our opinions, and what we think out loud when we are alone. We all need to watch our words and listen to the messages we send beyond the simple construct of our sentences. It is obvious to every thinking recent college graduate that the environment we must navigate is not only unlike any other in history, it is also made more complicated by the people older than us who cling to their powers as global and local decision makers.

So what words are you using? Are those the best words to use? It is time, in my opinion, that my generation seek to change the language of the conversations our societies negotiate. We have inherited a global community littered with fractures, and we cannot expect people who cannot readily adapt to new technologies like Facebook (still not a decade old) and Instagram (still not a year old, and now is sold to the former) to approach modern problems with modern thinking and solutions.

If you are 30 years old, you have a decision to make: lead the younger generation, or maintain the failing mindsets of the baby boomer generation. If we continue with their political point-counterpoint theatrics, game-theory inspired understandings of success (instead of on-the-ground effects), and lack of imagination, we might as well resign ourselves to be another ineffective generation.

It all begins with our words.

And having said all that, I want to say, “I love you mommy and daddy very much!”

